Wards of the Thicket

Wards of the Thicket

Erik Marshall weaves fantasy and suspense in this dark coming-of-age series about twelve-year-old Toby Weldon and the children Cold Harbor has forgotten.

Children Without Faces

Wards of the Thicket: Book 1

One more death shouldn’t matter.

In the Roughlands, you can die a thousand different ways. In the town of Cold Harbor, between the cursed forest, the dark cliffs, and the wild and bitter sea: double that amount.

But twelve-year-old Toby refuses to accept this when his own little brother mysteriously vanishes from the cellar of their home.

Even when the search takes Toby to the Thicket, a tangle of slums that Cold Harbor prefers to forget…and to rumors of demonic magic.

Dark in tone and vivid in storytelling, Children Without Faces keeps readers long into the night.

Get Children Without Faces


Children Without Voices

Wards of the Thicket: Book 2

In the Thicket, only fools cry for help.

Last week completely destroyed twelve-year-old Toby’s life. And in the harsh Roughlands, the hostile town of Cold Harbor shows no mercy.

Stuck in a tunnel with homeless children who all look to him for protection, he must learn to lead…

And with an altar to forgotten evil awakening, the pressure builds.

Something must give. Soon.

Coming in 2017.